Gutter Helmet Review


Product Pictures



Our Product Ratings


Price w/ Installation (3.5/5.0)

Price is heavily dependent on the commissioned sales representative. The “one call close” is almost always attempted.


Effective Protection Coefficient (2/5)

Gutter Helmet is relatively poor due to the lack of surface tension effectiveness in low velocity rains. Debris is dragged into the gutter.


Industry Reputation (1/5)

Poor industry reputation due to complaints, price and product ineffectiveness.


Strength (3/5)

Tree limbs will bend or damage panels. During the heat of the summer the brackets are prone to fail and panels have been known to become detached from the gutter.


Water Throughput (2/5)

In heavy rains, over-shooting will occur. There is no way that surface tension can roll the water in the open slot. Likewise, mild to weak rains will cause debris to be dragged into the gutter causing clogging and plants to grow in the gutter. If you have that perfect volume of rain, always demonstrated by the sales representative, the system appears fine.


Durability (3/5)

The Gutter Helmet sheet metal construction is rather flimsy and will be blown off gutters in heat and high winds.


Overall (2.0/5.0)



We currently do not have NCR verified installers/dealers for the Gutter Helmet product.

If you wish to be considered for NCR verified installer/dealer statusplease contacts us.




Ratings from Other Sources

- Updated July 2010



Some quotes from Pissed Consumer:

“… How do I put it best… OVERPRICED, DOES NOT WORK, RUINED THE LOOK OF OUR HOME, WOULD NOT RETURN OUR CALLS WHEN IT CLOGGED! Do not waste your time with this product or company. They claim they are owned by a big corporation and thats a good thing. Like any big corporation they treat you like a little guy and never returned any of our calls!!!!!!!!!! GUTTER HELMET YOU ARE A JOKE OF A PRODUCT AND A JOKE OF A COMPANY!  [... ] They did a killer sales job on us, wish they would spend as much time on customer service as they do sales!  ..”

“… Gutter Helmet gives you a great sales pitch and makes a lot of promises but as soon as you have a problem with their system (and you will) they are of no help whatsoever. The installation was sloppy and poorly done. When we lost most of the panels in the snow they wanted to rip us off again to put them back up.Once they have your money they really do not care if your are a satisfied customer or not. …”





Gutter Helmet’ is a registered trademark of Southeastern Metals Mfg Co., ( See Copyright Information )

We have no ownership interest in any product manufactures being reviewed.

>

Discussion

  1. Chris  August 10, 2010

    The concept seemed good. I researched and thought it would work well for my home. However, the installation team needed my ladder and equipment and I am stilll not sure how they got it all installed on the 2nd story roof using my 18 ft ladder. Initially, they did not install around the corner of the eves and the whole thing looked goofy. I thought with a franchise and pressure from a big company, that they would be more professional and accountable. The larger downspouts they installed do not make any difference if the hole in the gutter is not properly fitted. The downspouts did not work either as they fitted them over the prior smaller downspout catch and water flowed to my foundation. They promised to send the warranty in the mail, but never did.
    The gutters clogged with oak pollen, but for the most part did keep the larger leaves out. Water has flowed over the guards like waterfalls with any significant rain. I did unclog one 1st story section which did improve function some, though not fully. I have called multiple times and they have never called me back. Beware of purchasing this product, especially from a company like the one serving Roanoke, VA that does not stand behind its product.

    Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 1

    (reply)
  2. John  August 12, 2010

    Your review is terribly biased. I have read reviews on scores of sites and NO ONE gives this kind of scathing report. Gutter Helmet has a AAA rating with the BBB – that means ZERO outstanding complaints. Where do you get your information and how can you call that poor reputation? They are a multi-BILLION dollar business.

    We have not yet decided on a solution, but the Gutter Helmet guy today was NO pressure and did NOT try to close in one call.

    Tree limbs will bend or damage ANY gutter guard, including your “favored” one. That is a ridiculous comment.

    I do not trust your information in the least after this inaccurate, obviously biased “review.”

    And no, I do not work for any gutter guard company and have no stake in it beyond being a customer looking for the best product.

    Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4

    (reply)
    • Barry Parker  November 4, 2011

      John..I totally agree that this “review” of Gutter Helmet is biased, to the point of making me ill. Our company has been a Gutter Helmet dealer for 25 years. I’ve seen the others come and go. We’ve replaced thousands of devises with Gutter Helmet and I’m delighted to say that I do not know of a single customer in our area that is unhappy with Gutter Helmet. Shame on ANY dealer who does not take care of a customer that has a problem. You can’t grow a business with unhappy customers. I’ve been to homes that we’ve installed Gutter Helmet on over 20 years ago that continue to work as well as it did on the day it was installed. Many companies say that their products work great and will not clog the gutter. Gutter Helmet has stood the test of time. It’s iproven time and time again that in this market, there is Gutter Helmet, and then there is everything else! We have a collection of “everything else” in our warehouse. We tell potential customers that if they think another product works better, stop by and pick up what they think works better, at no charge, for chances are that it’s sitting here waiting to be taken to the recycle center.
      Nationally, Gutter Helmet dealers have installed close to 100 million feet of product. Is it because it doesn’t work, or a slick sales person came n and lied? Or maybe, just maybe, Gutter Helmet really works!

      Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 2

      (reply)
      • NCR  November 4, 2011

        Please see a picture of GutterHelmet bellow for its sparkling performance: (sorry we thought that this thing relay works?)

        Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 1

        (reply)
        • G  July 9, 2012

          That is not actually a Gutter Helmet system. Clearly, this is just negative selling. Gutter Helmet has a textured surface, this one is flat. Also Gutter Helmet is not a one piece system. If you actually reviewed the product, you’d probably know that. It’s information that is all on their website. I guess you can’t believe everything you read.

          Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0

          (reply)
        • Hal  July 19, 2012

          This picture is not Gutter Helmet. I’m not certain what it is, but it’s not Gutter Helmet. Note the fascia installation and the wide opening between the panel and the gutter. Also note the unusual shape of the gutter. It looks like it could be LeafGuard.

          Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 0

          (reply)
        • Greg  August 18, 2013

          That’s the K-guard all in one system
          I believe
          Man your review company has no credibility because you are showing a product that
          Is not even the actual product
          That’s not Gutter Helmet
          I was a dealer 20 years ago
          But yes all gutter guards will eventually look like this including your micro mesh . that’s why you
          Need Gorilla Gutter Guard with AutoClean

          Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

          (reply)
        • tom  September 14, 2013

          Funny the guy bellows says its not Gutter Helment . Its not but it does the same thing same concept same out come. That looks like K guard

          Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

          (reply)
      • Greg  August 18, 2013

        Why don’t you explain about the warranty and how the consumer has to keep the gutter helmet clean,
        Oh and what about those nasty dangerous ice cycles
        That form in the winter
        I was a gutter helmet dealer many years ago
        I invented Leafproof too that forms ice cycles to like all surface tension products do
        All surface tension and all perforated and micro screens clog and all require the consumer to keep them clean
        But the problem is people like you that are not
        Informing the consumer about the maintenance involved or the ice cycles that form
        You still will need a ladder with all gutter guards
        With Gorilla Gutter Guard and Auto Clean
        You can maintain your gutters and gutter guards FromThe Ground
        Plus we have Auto Melt

        Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

        (reply)
    • Therese  August 7, 2013

      How do you know the term “close in one call” – You are a salesman for them.

      Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

      (reply)
  3. NCR  August 13, 2010

    John Thank you for your comment, however as far as the apparent lack of complaints about gutter helmet, performing a simple web search, exposed just a few (FYI we have provided you some links)

    Gutter Helmet Does Not Stand By Their Product

    Gutter Helmet Complaint
    Gutter Helmet what a JOKE!
    Gutter Helmet Does Not Stand By Their Product
    Why I Will Not Recommend Gutter Helmet
    Gutter Helmet Complaints – Rude Employees
    gutter helmet corp Complaints – warranty
    Gutter Helmet Complaints – Caused my basement to flood
    Gutter Helmet Complaints – Awful company and its products
    Gutter Helmet Complaints – taking advantage of elderly


    ” Gutter Helmet has a AAA rating with the BBB – that means ZERO outstanding complaints. Where do you get your information and how can you call that poor reputation? They are a multi-BILLION dollar business.”

    We do not view the BBB as a source for credible customer rating as the company being-rated – based on the bellow articles – has the option to pay in some way to remove the negative ratings (that is just wrong)

    See some articles in this area:
    BBB – the fox guarding the hen house ?
    Better Business Bureau Credibility Fading Fast

    As you said [gutter helmet is a] “multi-BILLION dollar business.” – so they would defiantly have the means to contribute to the BBB if the aforementioned is correct – Furthermore the shear amount of negative feedback, spanning multiple years based on multiple sources is more than enough for the average Joe to see how “credible” the BBB score is.


    “ Tree limbs will bend or damage ANY gutter guard, including your “favored” one. That is a ridiculous comment.”

    I think when you talk about a tree limb the size that could damage your gutter protection product – would you not be worried about bending or damaging your roof as a higher priority?


    “ And no, I do not work for any gutter guard company and have no stake in it beyond being a customer looking for the best product. “

    If you are not a gutter guard company our question to you is:
    Why did you not perform a search beyond the BBB rating for gutter helmet? Are you such a concerned “consumer” that you would rather complain here essentially stating that your opinion is much better than ours – and you cannot even perform a simple web search about a company who you apparently favor?



    “I do not trust your information in the least after this inaccurate, obviously biased “review.””


    John you are certainly entitled to your opinion, at this time our opinion stands as gutterglove and the micro-mesh category as the superior products. ConsumerReports (yes THE consumer Reports) recently published a review about gutter protection products, and the results were consistent with what we have been saying for the past three years.

    Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 5 Thumb down 4

    (reply)
  4. Tyler  January 31, 2011

    Gutter Helmet is the best. Microscreens will clogg up right away either with pollen or shingle grit, and has no brackets. Gutter helmet has the strongest bracket on the market which allows it to handle any snow or ice load. Also this website must be extremely out of date because the picture of the gutterhelmet is of the old panel which hasn’t been used for 6 years! Yes it’s expensive, maybe the most, but all that should tell you is that its the best!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 3

    (reply)
  5. shawn p. obrien  February 1, 2011

    Gutterhelmet has been horrible in winter months. it creates icycles that are 6 feet long and extemely dangerous as it hangs around the entire house and keeps the garage from being used. It’s terribly dangerous for the front porch as well. WHen you call, they say they are only warrantied for leaves and it is installed correctly for that purpose. I will be removing mine and calling it a 2,000 mistake.

    Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 1

    (reply)
  6. Amen Bro  March 18, 2011

    We live in Sarasota, Florida and have Gutter Helmet on our home. We are the only ones with palm trees in the front and icicles over the patio! Go figure. Nothing like this happened before Gutter Helmet was installed!
    When we called to tell them we had clogs, I was told to try Metamucil. Works for me! Gotta run now!!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 1

    (reply)
  7. Ron  March 23, 2011

    I had GutterHelmet install their leaf guard system on the rain gutters of my home
    in 2003. The seemed to word find until I had a coupe of strong storm with high winds.
    The wind apparently lifted a uproot the anchoring system of the GutterHelmet panels.
    The first time the damage was slight, and only bucked up one joint in the front of the
    house. That was about a year or so ago, just recently we had another bad storm and
    the wind tore off one panel and almost another except for one end that was flopping
    aimlessly in the wind making a terrible noise, still secured enough at one end that it
    was not totally blown off. I had GutterHelmet come out and look at the damage and ask
    them for their recommendation. They wanted $595.00 to repair the damages. The
    only problem being that my wife and I have retired since 2003, and we don’t have the
    money to make the repairs now. Howmowner’s insurance would pay, but the deductible
    is 500 dollars. So there you have our dilema. I hope to try to find some new braces,
    straighten the old panels and with the help of my children and/or they’re spouses make
    the repairs myself. I think the work was substandard, and should have been able to
    withstand the wind we had, as the GutterHelmut products was the extent of our damages.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 1

    (reply)
  8. Evan Troechillder  April 7, 2011

    I find it utterly absurd that anyone would so fiercely defend gutterhelmet unless they were an employee or owner. Their product is an inefficient and outdated concept. Their banners at the home shows I have attended say, “The First, The Best, The #1″. Oh God, where to start? Saying you’re #1 after saying that you’re the best would be flagged as redundant by anyone who didn’t sleep through english class in grade school. As for the notion of “first” being “best”, I would love to hear one example of this being true for any product throughout the history of man. It is inevitable that any product that proves itself to be a good concept and profitable will eventually be cast aside by technological advancements in the field. The Ford Model T was the first mass produced automobile. I guess no one has come up with anything better then, right? And #1? Give me a break! Gutter Helmet came in sixth place after a 16 month field test conducted by Consumer Reports. But I’m sure that Consumer Reports is either biased or they just don’t know what they are doing when it comes to testing products.I had Leaf Filter installed on both my home and my cabin (which is in the middle of 12 acres of woods) over 6 years ago and I have not had a single problem or complaint since. My parents had Gutter Helmet on their home for 4 years prior to my purchase and left it on for 2 years after I got Leaf Filter. When they saw how much better my gutters performed they made the switch to the better system and Gutter Helmet went straight to the recycling center where it was happy to have an opportunity to be reborn as something descent.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 2

    (reply)
  9. Evan Troechillder  April 7, 2011

    My apologies for acting in haste and posting this without doing a spell-check. That would be something “decent” at the end of the paragraph.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

    (reply)
  10. Silver  June 9, 2011

    Gutter Helmet – The icecycle problem is a hazard
    FIRST: Never had icecycle problems until the installation of Gutter Helmet. Icecycles on the entire span up to 3 feet in length. They damaged bushes and were a safety threat for any one coming onto the front porch. The company downplays this hazard, but it is a major concern and I would not recommend this product to others. This issue is noted in their Warrenty Information as “Icicles will not impede the performance of Gutter Helmet and are not considered a serviceable condition covered under warranty. If icicles are objectionable, simply knock them off as they occur.” THEY WILL OCCUR…AND THEY ARE A NUESENCE AND A SAFTY HAZARD. BE WARNED.

    SECOND: They are not maintenance free. The Warranty Information states that they should “be cleaned 3 to 4 times per year to remove build-up pollen, dirt, debris, etc.” Eliminating the winter months…that is cleaning every two to three month. THAT IS NOT WHAT I SPENT THE BIG BUCKS FOR.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 1

    (reply)
  11. SAM  July 11, 2012

    This product is worthless. It destroyed my roof due to water backflowing underneith the shingles and rotting the wood. Had leaks on my roof caused by Gutterhelmet and now I’m spending $$$ to have it all redone. In addition, several gutters were pitched the wrong way. Most of the gutters are filled with water and debris and can’t be cleaned.
    Will NEVER buy anything like it again. Overpriced and a complete piece f junk!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1

    (reply)
  12. M.Stafford  July 11, 2012

    Gutter Helmet which was installed in 10/2006 has been a nightmare ever sense. I still have to hire someone to come and clean out the gutters, they are full every few months. The installer did a lousy job. They told me after several phone calls to various installers of gutter helmet (as the one that installed mine, Creative Systems in Tampa, FL is no longer in business, phone disconnected) that it would cost me $100 or more for them to come and look. My roof which I had put on new in 9/2006 is now leaking where the gutter people installed the helmet gutters with screws through the new roofing shingles and my roofing company said that is not from their work and not under their quarantee. So now I’m stuck with a leaking roof and there are not even any gutter helmet installers in my area anymore at all in 2012. The roof company that put on my new roof said whoever installed the gutters put in screws through the shingles and ruined them, as water is seeping through now, ugh! Also they said the gutters in the front needed to be slanted down more in order to work a bit better, this is what several people have told me since. Why didn’t Creative Systems do the job they were suppose to? What a nightmare!! Here I thought I was getting something to help me with not having so much leaves and debris in my gutters all the time, but now it’s worse than ever. I have sent a certified signature required letter explaining the situation to the gutter helmet headquarters last year and I didn’t even get a response at all from them, what a terrible company!! Not sure what to do, if to remove the gutters completely and get someone to seal off the holes they have put in my roof or what – what a terrible situation!!! I would tell everyone, do not deal with this company, they do not stand behind their warantee at all and they will take your $$ and run!! Seems like I remember also that when I purchased the gutter helmet I had to call and call to even get them to come out and install it and two people came out a husband/wife team and they didn’t seem to know what they were doing. I should have stopped the whole thing right then, but live and learn the hard way!!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1

    (reply)
    • M.Stafford  July 11, 2012

      Gutter Helmet which was installed in 10/2006 has been a nightmare ever sense. I still have to hire someone to come and clean out the gutters, they are full every few months. The installer did a lousy job. They told me after several phone calls to various installers of gutter helmet (as the one that installed mine, Creative Systems in Tampa, FL is no longer in business, phone disconnected) that it would cost me $100 or more for them to come and look. My roof which I had put on new in 9/2006 is now leaking where the gutter people installed the helmet gutters with screws through the new roofing shingles and my roofing company said that is not from their work and not under their quarantee. So now I’m stuck with a leaking roof and there are not even any gutter helmet installers in my area anymore at all in 2012. The roof company that put on my new roof said whoever installed the gutters put in screws through the shingles and ruined them, as water is seeping through now, ugh! Also they said the gutters in the front needed to be slanted down more in order to work a bit better, this is what several people have told me since. Why didn’t Creative Systems do the job they were suppose to? What a nightmare!! Here I thought I was getting something to help me with not having so much leaves and debris in my gutters all the time, but now it’s worse than ever. I have sent a certified signature required letter explaining the situation to the gutter helmet headquarters last year and I didn’t even get a response at all from them, what a terrible company!! Not sure what to do, if to remove the gutters completely and get someone to seal off the holes they have put in my roof or what – what a terrible situation!!! I would tell everyone, do not deal with this company, they do not stand behind their warantee at all and they will take your $$ and run!! Seems like I remember also that when I purchased the gutter helmet I had to call and call to even get them to come out and install it and two people came out a husband/wife team and they didn’t seem to know what they were doing. I should have stopped the whole thing right then, but live and learn the hard way!!

      Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1

      (reply)
  13. Bill Van Houten  January 12, 2014

    I have had the system for about 5 years and am in the process of having it removed. Water overshoots in heavy rain. Icicles form in winter. Water infiltrates under the system. It is pure junk and it is over priced. I spent better than 2000 and am now just going to replace all of my gutters with build in guards. The price will actually be about the same, and for the whole roof rather than half. This is just about the worst product I every purchased. Furthermore, I had the gutter helmet folks regrade one of my gutters to make it drain better. It still has standing water. BUYER BEWARE.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1

    (reply)
  14. Bob C  January 27, 2014

    We thought we had solved our problem, but, now the ice hanging down is scary and dangerous. No other house in our area has this problem. I guess I wasted $800. We will get them removed when spring comes or when the 3 foot ice melts hanging from the GH. I do not recommend GH. Only had them for 3 months. I should have read more of the reveiws.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1

    (reply)

Add a Comment