Top 15 Gutterguards & Testing Results


Our Rating:

1


2


3

Product
Value:
Effective Protection Coefficient
Industry Reputation
Strength
Water Throughput
Durability
Overall
In Depth Review
Valor In-depth Review
GutterDome In-depth Review
Gutterglove Pro In-depth Review

Our Rating:


4


5


6


7

Product
Value
Effective Protection Coefficient
Industry Reputation
Strength
Water Throughput
Durability
Overall
In Depth Review
Gutterglove Utra In-depth Review
LeafBlaster In-depth Review
MasterShield In-depth Review
LeafFilter In-depth Review

Our Rating:


8


9


10


11

Product
Value
Effective Protection Coefficient
Industry Reputation
Strength
Water Throughput
Durability
Overall
In Depth Review
LeafGuard In-depth Review
K Guard In-depth Review
GutterGuard In-depth Review
LeafGuard In-depth Review

Our Rating:


12


13


14


15

Product
Value:
Effective Protection Coefficient
Industry Reputation
Strength
Water Throughput
Durability
Overall
In Depth Review
Gutter Helmet In-depth Review
GutterMagic In-depth Review
GutterGuardian In-depth Review

Gutterglove logo is a registered trademark of Gutterglove Gutterguard, Lenney Robert C. (S/N 78355811) Master Shield logo is a registered trademark of MGP Manufacturing LLC, Griffin, Shelia M (S/N 78478873) LeafFilter logo and name is a registered trademark of LeafFilter International, Inc ‘The Original GutterGuardian’  logo and name is a registered trademark of Dixie HomeCrafters, Inc. ‘Gutter Magic’  logo and name may be  a registered trademark of Gutter Magic. ‘Gutter Helmet’ is a registered trademark of Southeastern Metals Mfg Co., Inc. ‘The Original GutterGuard’  logo and name is a registered trademark of Dixie HomeCrafters, Inc. ‘K GUARD’ logo is a registered trademark of K-Guard LLC. ‘LeafGuard’ is a registered trademark of LeafGuard Gutter Systems, Inc. ( See Copyright Information)

We have no ownership interest in any product manufactures being reviewed.

 

Comments

  1. Jason  September 21, 2013

    Reading these comments I see there are far more leaf “solutions” than I had ever thought. The testing done by this NCR outfit seems very noninclusive. A major red flag comes up with its Dome Gutter and GutterGlove pro recommendations. I am as unsure as I was before coming to this site. I have much more research to do before an intelligent choice can be made. I can tell you from personal experience, that the expensive Gutter Helmet I had installed on one home was a flop — the rain ran off of it in sheets. I assume anything like it will do the same. I also assume any manufacturer using screening means clogging by fine particulate matter such as fine granules, rotted leaf sediment, and a host of others. Does your kitchen drain stopper ring a bell? That means lifting and cleaning — yes? My best suggestion is to approach neighbors in your specific area/neighborhood who use leaf protection and ask them how effective their systems have proven to be. In fact this is the ONLY way to go. All other so called testing and ratings services may be holding hands with the leaf guard industry and any of its dozens of products — including NCR.

     
    reply
  2. Paresh  August 25, 2013

    Hello,
    Many thanks for your comprehensive reviews!
    Have you guys tested FLODOCTOR gutter guards?
    Thanks,
    Paresh

     
    reply
  3. Sheree  July 17, 2013

    Any results on testing Raintrap S-Lock Gutter Protection System or Invisiguard Micromesh gutter guards? Thanks!

     
    reply
  4. Bk  July 3, 2013

    Any feedback on Evelyn’s leaf solution?

     
    reply
  5. Mollie  June 19, 2013

    Too cool providing us helpful pointers! All good ideas worth looking into.
    Many thanks – Back again next week. It’s been so very much appreciated!

     
    reply
  6. Bob Johnson  June 16, 2013

    Does anyone have experience with “Gutter Shell” (http://www.guttershell.com/ )? I just had my gutters replaced and am tying downspouts into a drainage system. Important obviously that the system remain as debris free as possible. The gutter contractor recommended this product. Any insights would be appreciated. Thanks!

     
    reply
  7. Dan  June 12, 2013

    Have you ever tested Leafree? I am replacing all of the gutters on the house with continuous full length gutters. (Currently the house gutters are in eight foot sections that leak, fall down, etc.) I would like to put a leaf guard on the new gutters and the contractor is recommending Leafree. I live in an area of North Carolina with a lot of long leaf pines. We have removed those that overhang the house but others are still close enough to land on the house if we have a strong wind. Any recommendations for a gutter guard?. Thanks

     
    reply
  8. Jay  June 6, 2013

    Any comments on Leaf Relief?

     
    reply
  9. Brian  May 26, 2013

    Any comments on LeafBlox http://www.leafblox.com/? Seems great for leaves but maybe not the smaller stuff. Any other feedback?

     
    reply
  10. Josh  April 24, 2013

    Wondering why you showed the Leaf Solution product in your testing video but don’t have a review on it? From the research I have done it looks to be a great product, and I am considering having it installed on my own house.

     
    reply
  11. Lana  December 16, 2012

    Has anyone installed Real Gutter Cover by Raytec Manufacturing? If so, what is the feedback?
    Thanks

     
    reply
  12. K Lazo  September 27, 2012

    How can this study have gone on for 2 years when “Gutter Dome” has only been around this year (2012)? Also, Gutter Dome came from Gutter Glove , all of which had the most fantastic ratings. Also, how are ratings found for “Industry Reputation”? I am thinking that this is just a clever ad for Gutter Dome and Gutter Glove, not an unbiased study…

     
    reply
    • NCR  December 2, 2012

      @ Lazo Gutter Dome contacted us back in 2009 -2010 when they were just getting started and supplied us with the prototypes for our testing. From that time they have installed product on many homes – we were in-touch with some of the same customers and received great feedback.

       
      reply
      • John  December 4, 2012

        Can that great feedback on GutterDome be available for viewing – even in a summarized form? I am considering having them installed, and would like see some positive feedback to weigh against the negative feedback I have seen about it. Thanks.

         
        reply
  13. Freddy  September 10, 2012

    Great informative site, but CONCLUSIONS MAKE NO SENSE. How can you give Leaf Filter an “Overall Rating” of 3.5 stars when none of the individual components are rated higher than 3?

     
    reply
    • NCR  December 2, 2012

      @ Freddy,

      We give different weight to different categories, please see the “How we test” section for further details.

      Leaf Filter received a 3.5 due to the lower pricing per ln foot of product .

       
      reply
  14. abe  August 28, 2012

    Any thoughts on the leaf terminator system? I have a problem with elm and oak leaves in my gutters. the local gutter company is recommending leaf terminator.

     
    reply
  15. Dissatisfied Customer  June 26, 2012

    Hi, I had Gutter Glove installed a couple of years ago and it doesn’t work as advertised. The product is really no different than the gutter inserts you can buy at Home Depot for a fraction of the cost. The GG doesn’t catch heavy rain. The rain flows right over the gutter glove and leaks into the house. Once you get it installed, you’re on your own. The follow up service and support is horrible.

    Don’t be fooled guys, this is a sales site. All the reviews are going to point to buy. Don’t spend thousands on gutter gloves. You’ll be sorry.

     
    reply
    • NCR  September 24, 2012

      Seven years ago our editor thought very much like yourself. His home on a wooded lot had clogged gutters with the inserts that were purchased from a Big Box store:



      Disappointed with the performance he called in for an estimate from various types of manufacturers and everyone said that the system they sold never clogged and the competitors product did, this was rather conflicting and this is why NCR decided to investigate and review gutter protection products.

       
      reply
  16. website  May 29, 2012

    Have you considered adding some videos to your article? I think it will really enhance viewers understanding.

     
    reply
    • NCR  September 24, 2012

      We are working on inserting individual videos to every product we have tested, in the meantime you can view the overall video on the front page.

       
      reply
  17. Terri  May 27, 2012

    Your review of gutter products has been very helpful. I’m researching the products now and will then go to contractors for estimates. I’m in the far west Chicago suburbs.
    The contractors here do promote brand names they install … such as Gutter Cap and Gutter Shuttters. None of these have been in your reviews. Does anybody else feel like there maybe only x number of manufacturers that just brand the product differently in different USA regions. That name branding happens in all other products so it’s a good possibility it happens with gutters too. I really dislike that different names are used in different parts of USA…..mfg’s just need to tell us what products they make…. all their trademark names.
    I believe a qualified contractor can lay any brand of floor, carpet or install any brand furnance ect.
    I’ve used Angies List for several years for everything from computer repairs>drapes>new furnace>air conditioning>plumbing>painting ect. I read the USER reviews and ask those contractors to come and give me a proposal. I haven’t been disappointed yet…you see the good and bad contractor reviews. The only way into Angies list is from a customer….liking your work or not so much so. At one time you could subscribe to Angies list for ONE month only….approx $8.00 or longer. Angies List let you review contractors in your area only, but it is quite large. It is well worth $8.00. Protect yourself from huge losses from contractors that are prone to bad work. …..Ok back to my reviewing gutter products.
    Thanks so much for organizations like gutter protection that give me some peace of mind amongst available products.
    Want another one that comsurer reports does not review?…. water softners !!

     
    reply
  18. Kat  May 24, 2012

    Does anyone have experience or an opinion on “Gutter Shell? It is local (New Jersey) and supposedly has a patented double “s” system . http://www.guttershell.com/ I like it because it supposedly protects against ice dams which my neighbors “Gutter Topper” created. I’m very reluctant to go with a micromesh because we have an excessive amount of debris that is actually more of a problem in spring than fall. Lots of maples, cherry and dogwoods etc all creating mushy clumps in our brand new gutters.
    Thanks for your help!

     
    reply
  19. John  May 18, 2012

    Im callin b.s. on this. You must be geting some kind of a kickback from the screen companys. To say the screens work so well is foolish. Obviously youve never installed them on a home and came back a year later to see what they look like. This sediment from the shingles will eventually clog the micro fiber causeing the water to completely skip the gutter and shoot over the top. Not only that but you claim that the leafgaurd is the cheapest thing out of those you could buy? Are you on drugs? The leafgaurd system is the MOST EXPENSIVE thing you could get and is Superior to the screens when it comes to functionality. I like the thought behind this site but you shoulda been honest instead of misleading. You didnt even mention the gutter shutter! How do you have a gutter protection review with out mentioning gutter shutter? Shame on you

     
    reply
  20. Stephanie  April 13, 2012

    We currently are considering proposals for new roofing and gutter cover systems, including Raindrop, GutterCap and Leafproof. I note that Raindrop and Leafproof systems are among those you are evaluating. How soon might you be publishing results on those brands?

     
    reply
    • NCR  April 17, 2012

      @ Stephanie,

      If you have not done so – you may Subscribe to our 2012 results release newsletter The second we publish the results (we are expecting sometime next week) you will be the first to know !

      We apologies for not updating you sooner – however we have had a BIG surprise unfold while testing the gutter covers, that we wanted to tipple check before we publish. Thank you for staying with us.

       
      reply

Add a Comment